KMS Coaches' Corner

 

Got somethin' to say/ask that doesn't fit into any of our post categories?? Comment here!

Bernard Waugh
10/1/2008 06:02:34 am

Great cartoon, and thanks for all your help during our planning time!

Reply
Anna Watson
10/4/2008 11:54:15 pm

I love the comic strips! How do you make it a 4 panel?

Reply
Cara
10/5/2008 02:37:28 am

Look above the talk/thought balloons...look for "Panel Choices - Select One" and click on the one with four boxes. :)

Reply
Cara
10/5/2008 02:39:11 am

Has anyone looked at the instructional strategies page/document on the Literacy page of this website?

Anyone tried any new strategies lately?

Reply
Anna Watson
10/8/2008 08:26:46 pm

With Cara's help, I did a walk around survey to introduce a new topic to my class. The kids really enjoyed it, I even had a student who was absent that herd about it and wanted to make it up!

Reply
Erica
10/12/2008 11:18:25 pm

I did the vocabulary chart with my students and got some great descriptions/visual/memory clues! The kids really enjoyed the activity (after a test) and it sure beats finding a puzzle or other math-related activity for after exams!

Reply
10/19/2008 05:43:15 am

Has anyone recorded small group discussions, yet? What equipment did you use? Have the recordings been posted anywhere?

Reply
Kelly Burgess
10/21/2008 10:12:50 am

The 8th grade computer skills test is fast approaching. What ways are teachers integrating word processing, data bases and spreadsheets into their instruction? If you have any great ideas PLEASE share them!

Reply
Cara
10/22/2008 11:13:19 pm

Anne Torrence is using spreadsheets to illustrate changes that take place in the story Flowers for Algernon. The students are tracking Charlie's IQ, Algernon's IQ, and a couple of other things.

Reply
Anna
10/23/2008 10:21:13 pm

I am also using spreadsheets to have the students analyze data from a survey on Bullying. Thanks for your help with that Debby and Cara!

Reply
Porsche
10/26/2008 07:58:06 am

Hey- I LOVE Discovery Education clip art!! It is easy to use and I usually jsut google Discovery Education Clip Art and it takes me right there. I like to add these to notes home, tests, handouts and power points. They are also a good, G rated source for kids to use. :-) Have Fun!

Reply
Bridgette
10/26/2008 10:13:01 pm

Look at the video 212 on teachertube.com.
It is very inspirational. A little extra effort can go a long way.

Reply
bridgette
10/28/2008 04:28:33 am

the 212 video is clearer on youtube

Reply
Sherry
10/28/2008 04:29:03 am

I have some activities for spreadsheets, databases, and word processing for social studies if anyone is interested.

Reply
Sara
10/28/2008 04:29:05 am

I just want to thank Cara and Debby for all of the time they have given to my class this week. We are working on technology projects and I would NEVER have been able to help my students the way that we have together.

Reply
Ryan Graham
10/28/2008 04:29:18 am

Anna/Cara, what is a walk around survey?

Reply
Lu Graham
10/28/2008 09:34:21 pm

I really enjoy the technology- but am having trouble making it fit within the time constraints of A/B days- I don't have enough time now to teach all the hands on aspects of music that my students need to be able to play their instruments effectively. Any suggestions!

Reply
Doretha
10/29/2008 01:00:20 am

Guys I am sure you already know this but Cara is a great resource for finding material that relates to your curriculum. I have tried several new strategies she has provided for me. I can remember seeing kids who did not like to read but when I introduce a lesson with an article that relates to what we will be covering they seem to tackle the textbook a little easier. It seems to get them excited about what they are going to learn. They become engaged when asked to chunk small pieces of information. Cara I also need help with a new method called PWIM. Look at your schedule to think about a time we can talk. Thanks for all you have done. If there is anyone else out there familiar with this strategy please let me know.

Reply
Rhonda
10/29/2008 03:02:19 am

Do we have a supply of batteries for cameras and such that we can easily get to when we need replacements? There were none to be found today when our cameras died during a project :(

Reply
Todd
11/8/2008 09:08:08 am

Does anyone have any really cool ideas for reviewing the 1st quarter assesments when we get the results back? I know it is important information to use and go over, but I want to make it a more effective us of time than just going over the problem areas. Thanks, Todd

Reply
Reese
12/17/2008 09:05:42 pm

Mrs. Smith,

The class you did on how to locate information was wonderful! The students have really utilized those ideas and have every address they have looked for with little or no guidance from you!! Your attention to detail was what i was missing!!

Thanks for helping make this project a success!!

Reply



Leave a Reply.