KMS Coaches' Corner

 

Yes, we know that's a HUGE topic for a blog post!  Perhaps you have an idea or question about the 4th period Reading time.  Maybe you found a great new resource in the media center Professional Library.  Or maybe an engaging activity that integrates a reading strategy or tool.  Comment here, and if it gets too big, we'll create some new posts.

Thanks!



Debby
1/24/2009 12:09:28 am

One new program I want you to be aware of the the North Carolina Young Adult Book Award. It's an outgrowth of the Children's Book Award, sort of a "People's Choice" award for books. This is the first year for the middle school category. We have a few copies of each of the ten nominated titles. If any of your students are interested, they can see details on www.kmsmediactr.weebly.com. (And so can you, but you can't vote!)

Reply
Anna Watson
1/27/2009 12:30:44 am

I have enjoyed using my classroom blog as a way to give the kids a break from reading the whole period on the days we do not walk. I have asked them questions about the reading strategies on there. This week, I asked them which reading strategy they liked the most so far and why.
www.mrswatson.tk

Reply
Kelley Warren
2/9/2009 01:44:23 am

I ABSOLUTELY ENJOYED TODAY'S INFERRING CLASS WITH MY STUDENTS.

THEY PLAYED "CHARADES" WITH MOVEMENT WORDS. EVERYONE PARTICIPATED AND THOROUGHLY ENJOYED LAUGHING!!!

Reply
Cara
2/9/2009 02:07:18 am

Anna, I saw your 4th period blog, and it's great. I encourage the rest of you to take a look at the questions Mrs. Watson poses, and read some of the student responses. Even if you don't want to set up a blog for your class/team, you can use the same kind of questioning with sticky notes and/or discussion during the week.

Reply
Kelly Burgess
2/9/2009 04:24:36 am

I have observed several classes that use one day a week for a "reader's cafe". Students are provided with, or bring a treat to eat while they share what they are reading. The strategy being highlighted is modeled and the students' sharing serves as practice. It is a great way to assess students comprehension and use of the tools. Students really enjoy and look forward to it!

Reply
Priscilla J. Green
2/11/2009 08:50:43 pm

On the way back from lunch the other day, I told a student, Jasmine Bolder, to wait until everyone got settled in their seats then she should get up from her seat, take a few steps and just suddenly collapse to the floor. This was my way of getting the students hyped up for the "inferring" strategy. I gave out sticky notes to each student and asked them to jot down what they thought was happening with Jasmine. They got a big kick out of this and some of their responses were quite humorous.

Reply
Anna Watson
2/11/2009 09:21:48 pm

I copied Mrs. Green's idea, and it was a complete hit! I had Daniel Castellanos fall to the floor from his seat yesterday in class. I asked students to write down what they thought was going on. They loved it and could not stop talking about it. Thanks Mrs. Green!

My kids also got a huge kick out of talking about the bumper stickers on the inference powerpoint-so much that they begged me to get more to talk about today in class. Those are great Cara! Inferring has definitely been a lot of fun to talk about with my class.

Reply
Cara
2/11/2009 11:13:02 pm

What a great idea, Mrs. Green! Doing an activity like that really grabs students' attention and gets them practicing the strategy. That can make it much easier as you transition into making inferences while reading. Great job, guys! Keep sharing!

Reply
Reese
2/12/2009 01:06:39 am

I modified Mrs. Green's idea by having a student appear to be frantically looking for something in front of an unsuspecting class. Ask Garrette Whitted about his jolly ranchers obsession! After discussing inferring we played charades using different scenarios. This was an excellent activity!

Reply
Kelley Warren (from an email to Cara!)
2/19/2009 03:17:15 am

I AM SO EXCITED!!!
WE JUST STARTED LITERATURE CIRCLES YESTERDAY. I JUST HAD ONE GROUP STOP TO DISCUSS WHAT THEY READ. ONE GIRL SAID, "SUMMARIZE WHAT YOU JUST READ WITHOUT LOOKING AT THE TEXT!"
IT IS WORKING!!! THEY ARE TALKING ABOUT THE BOOKS AND TRYING TO SELF-MONITOR EACH OTHER'S UNDERSTANDING.

Reply
Jan
2/19/2009 03:40:59 am

We had a great time with the bumper stickers. One of mind said "Drive fast, attract cops, drive very fast, attract sponsors." This led to a great discussion about racing and the special that was on last night featuring Dale Earnhardt and others.

Reply
Reese
2/25/2009 09:01:10 pm

Questioning is going well in 4th block. Playing 20 questions was excellent. Students asked very specific questions to narrow down choices.

We also imitated "Whose line is it anyway". They enjoyed it so much, they continued playing on the track while walking!

Reply
Waugh
3/5/2009 11:10:14 pm

I have noticed several exciting things taking place in my classes in regards to reading. Since we have begun the 4th block reading program, I have noticed a lot more spontaneous student to student discussion of books. Students are often wanting to tell me and others about what they are reading and enjoying. Today a student brought me a book from the library that went along with our SS curriculum. One of the most exciting things that has happened occurred during first and second block today. A particular student of ours that is a very reluctant reader, and can be a handful at times, especially when he is around his buddies, got turned on to the Bluford High series while in ELA class. During 4th block for the last week, this is all he talks about, and today he spent our entire library time showing his buddies the series, and telling them they needed to read it... it wasn't just a suggestion. Then he picked out the books they were to start with, and explained which books would come next etc. second block this same student happened to be at the bookfair when I brought another class. he left the bookfair and came over to another friend, and made him start reading the series. When I walked near him he said "I don't know what it is, I never liked reading before, but I got turned on to these books" I guess I am figuring out what stuff I like to read."
Something is going right!

Reply
nancybell
3/31/2009 04:27:11 am

during reading and writing prompts we have lately given a vocab list to include with their writing and we take a sentence from their writing and reteach sentence syntax.

Reply
11/8/2010 03:12:36 pm

Busy is a kind of happiness, Let we have no time to experience pain, Travel is a happy, Let us true experience life, Fatigue is a kind of enjoyment, Let us pure emptiness; Bumpy is a kind of experience,Let we really understand life. Let the joy flew into your door window, Let the good luck falls on you, Let happiness often blended with you mix, Let wishful flowed in your heart, Let time verse write full sincere and unforgettable, Let my message bring you happy auspicious.

Reply



Leave a Reply.