KMS Coaches' Corner

 

Post your ideas/questions here about reviewing quarterly assessments with students.  How can we make something so, ummm...boring....more engaging and useful??

Cara
11/14/2008 04:03:53 am

I think a modified version of the "Give-One, Get-One" activity would work here. Anita Parker and I discussed this as a possibility for her to use, so see her or Cara if you are interested in hearing more!

Reply
Cara
11/14/2008 04:05:19 am

For Language Arts, I've used some tools to help students analyze how they perform with certain genres and types of questions. See me if you'd like to see what it looks like.

Reply
Debby
11/14/2008 11:00:48 pm

I think if the review involves an element of "how can I know that?" it will be more effective. Lots of ways to approach it.

Reply
Erica
11/15/2008 06:04:34 am

I want to hear more about "Give-One, Get-One" it sounds reward-based which I love. I thought about asking kids to correct their quarterly assessments and making "Describe what you did wrong" or "Explain how you got your new answer" part of the requirement.

Reply
Lynn Mallory
12/2/2008 01:49:42 am

Since there aren't any marks on the bubble sheets, I had the students go through with a Key and "grade" their own papers. The key had beside each question what type of question (or what chapter from science would work)it was. They were then able to create a chart of how many they missed of a certain skill or chapter. Then, I made up centers that highlighted the different skills. They had to complete two centers the next day in class. I think it helped, because they could see that they were doing activities to help them on their personal weakness.

Reply
Tiffany
1/1/2009 11:25:07 pm

This might be a stupid question, but do you mean review for the quarterly, or review the quarterly after it's been scored?

Reply
Cara
1/15/2009 10:01:23 pm

I originally meant review the quarterly after it's been scored. In other words, how do you use the quarterly assessment data as a way to give feedback to your students and inform future instruction.

Reply



Leave a Reply.