KMS Coaches' Corner

 

The fourth Tuesday of every month is scheduled to be a Coaches Clinic.  This is also the Tuesday we typically have Departmental meetings.  We hope to combine the two in a way that works well for all of us. It will probably look different each month.  For example, we coaches might do some staff development with everyone in the media center before you separate into departments.  Or we might have some department-specific stuff to share with you, in which case we will just come to your department meeting.

The first Coaches Clinic is scheduled for Tuesday, October 28, and we'll be working out the details in the next few days.  We have plenty of important things to share/discuss, however, we also want to hear from you - What else do you want to know?  What topics/issues do you want us to highlight?  What are your staff development needs (as an individual or a department)?

10/19/2008 08:53:24 am

I am interested in Cara's ESL strategies workshop. I also need some additional help with quizdom...

I'm intrigued by the comic strip idea, but need some additional direction on what I can do to make that work academically, and not just for fluff. (Not implying the idea is fluff! I just need ideas and examples)

TF

Reply
Lou Mueller
10/24/2008 12:05:11 am

As part of the IMPACT Observation Lottery winners, I would like some help planning a lesson. I am afriad I will over do it and try to squeeze too much in for the sake of impressing them. Yet I still want somthing with a little flash and balls. So, maybe we could split into a group for just us five winners, in order to prepare us winners. Thanks Lou

Reply
Porsche
10/26/2008 08:03:26 am

LOU- Use the digital textbook on Learn NC. The Coaches may want to check it out but I am planning on using it for a couple of up and coming lessons.

Reply
Sherry
10/28/2008 04:26:12 am

Yeah! All of my students have participated in the Kid's Voting, today!

Reply
Michele
10/28/2008 04:26:41 am

I need help setting a blog for my classes and would like to know how other teachers have incorporated this technology with students.

Reply
Tiffany
10/28/2008 04:26:46 am

Thanks to C. Watson - she replied to my comic strip question via e-mail the other day!

Reply
10/28/2008 04:26:56 am

I want to learn how to use photo story with my 4th block students. I can't wait to see what their photography project will look out. I also need to figure out how to sign up all my students with e-mail accounts so that they can create their online scrapbook.

Reply
Julie Haigler
10/28/2008 04:26:58 am

Thanks for all the feedback. I need some instruction on the mimeo board and then some ideas on its use.

Reply
Bernard Waugh
10/28/2008 04:27:06 am

I read a research paper that said bald headed guys are better at technology. Is that true?

Reply
bell
10/28/2008 04:27:18 am

good luck tomorrow!

Reply
Sara
10/28/2008 04:27:39 am

I would like to know if there are any really good webquests for persuasive writing. When we do "Raising Our Voices" I would like to use a "short" introductory (2 days) web activity to introduce.

Reply
Dan McDermott
10/28/2008 04:27:59 am

I used the online chat this past Thursday... it took about a half hour to set up and found it to be a rousing success. The kids thoroughly enjoyed it and were extremely engaged. I didn't hear a word for the majority of the chat and EVERY kid was involved. I highly suggest this chat if you're stuying a topic that may involve the opportunity for students to argue and present their own opinions with the ability to support their arguments with facts. Really awesome.

Reply
Jerold Griggs
10/28/2008 04:28:05 am

Thanks Cara for teaching me as a math teacher how to teach the multiplying and dividing reading activity to my students.

Reply
george w. bush
10/28/2008 04:28:17 am

when i am doing a blog in class, are there any good strategies for keeping this kind of stuff from happening. i can't watch everybody

Reply
Betsy Buchanan
10/28/2008 04:28:21 am

I need help with the document camera. How do you reprogram the buttons on the side of the stylus pen?

Reply
Jan McCombs
10/28/2008 04:28:23 am

I want to know how to keep me and my computer from going to sleep. Seriously, my computer does go to sleep and I have to click in back on. I know there is a way, but I just don't have that expertise. Can you help?

Reply
Kelley
10/28/2008 04:28:24 am

I also would like some help with quizdom and possibly podcast.

Reply
M
10/28/2008 04:28:24 am

Today isn't the best day to post. Ask me later.

Reply
Clemmdaddy
10/28/2008 04:28:40 am

Lou,

As one of the teachers not chosen in the lottery, I would be happy to aid you so that you don't have to squeeze too hard. In essence...you got what you asked for...

Reply
Tiffany Green
10/28/2008 04:28:45 am

I can't think of anything to request right now. But I've a comment, I've been enjoying my photostory project.

Reply
Leslie Fitzpatrick
10/28/2008 04:28:47 am

Tiffany,
As part of our review week in vocabulary I had the students create old fashioned comics using words from the various weeks. I think the kids would LOVE to get high tech with the comics, especially since some of them are not artists. I have no idea how to use the comics online though, so I need help!

Reply
Steve
10/28/2008 04:28:54 am

Carrie,

If you want, I'd be happy to share what I did with Photostory. There were several kinks I had to work out; maybe we could talk abou that too.

Reply
Anita
10/28/2008 04:28:56 am

All of a sudden, youtube.com is not working. I can access the site but cannot get anything to load even if I try before 7am. I'd like an alternative way to use this tool.

Reply
plaidman
10/28/2008 04:28:58 am

I need some new ideas. I am getting into a rut and using the same resources over and over.

Reply
Paula
10/28/2008 04:29:13 am

I would like to know some other fun options for using the Quizdom. I feel like my students are already becoming bored with the game choices of soccer, or baseball. Are there some other suggestions for fun activities through the Quizdom?

Reply
Rhonda
10/28/2008 04:29:25 am

I would like some reading practice resources/websites for my very low readers...things that they can practice individually.

Reply
sean szakal
10/28/2008 04:30:21 am

cara, i would like to do the lesson on the southern, middle and new england colonies around next wednesday. i will talk to you about it later just in case you don't see this.

Reply
Dan McDermott
10/28/2008 04:30:52 am

Szakal is a great person to ask for about Quizdom. He would gladly give his planning up to help you and even his time after school. He'd done Quizdom affectively and is a pro at it.

Reply
10/28/2008 04:31:07 am

I'm getting much more comfortable with my website and blog. I am interested in turning literature circle discussions into podcasts. Does anyone know of an example I can see or have any ideas for posting/implementing.

Reply
Carolina
10/28/2008 04:31:12 am

Need help in how to keep students focus and interested in what I'm teaching.
Although I've tried many different techniques, I don't get what I need.
Heeeellllpppp!!!!

Reply
M
10/28/2008 04:31:19 am

What do you mean by "ribbon" on the media page?

Reply
Mary Beth
10/28/2008 04:31:38 am

Waugh,
I think that you should use this topic as your doctoral dissertation. I am sure that the research would be fascinating. Hey ,how about an extensive survey?

Reply
Downing
10/28/2008 04:31:51 am

For impact lottery winners, I'm using quizdome.

No dog and pony show, just do what I'm already doing using technology.

Reply
Clemmdaddy
10/28/2008 04:31:53 am

Mc D Correction

*effectively

Reply
Lou
10/28/2008 04:32:24 am

Mrs. Green, can we get togther about the Photostory. I can use that in class. Can anyone guide me on the Cartoon page that was given over the summer session.

Reply
Melissa
10/28/2008 04:33:58 am

I would love some real applications for the discussion forum. My students in 7th grade are about to begin a unit on speeches, but the next unit incorporates debate. I would love some ideas on how to use the online discussion forums as a warm up before we get into a classic debate in class. What are some pitfalls to keep in mind?

Reply
Coach Fox
10/28/2008 04:37:17 am

this is a cool space

Reply
Cara
10/28/2008 10:52:21 am

Thanks guys! Let's all help answer these questions. I'm going to set up a new blog post for a few of these issues discussed above.

Reply
Erica
10/29/2008 12:22:52 pm

I have no idea what I am doing. I can't find the time to figure out a way to incorporate all of the awesome technology - using mimio or powerpoint just to do the lesson like I would on an overhead isn't good enough. I am frustrated...and sad that I can't figure out how to make this AWESOME for my kids - HELP!

Reply
doretha
11/3/2008 11:13:56 pm

Thanks for working with us. I need more time to integrate and find ways to implement the use of quizdoms. I feel like students are more engaged because of use of the little technology I am using.

Reply
KMS PE Coaches
11/3/2008 11:16:18 pm

Is there any way to clarify between Academic Coaches and PE coaches. We get a lot of things asking about our "Clinics" and other information that our wonderful academic coaches have to offer. Apparently these are not as obviously different as we would think... =)

Reply
Jimmy Newell
11/3/2008 11:16:27 pm

When a student has a problem with his user name or password not working can I contact any of the coaches or just beth?

Reply
Cheney
11/3/2008 11:16:48 pm

I am not very technological. This is my first blog ever.

Reply
Lynn Mallory
11/3/2008 11:19:24 pm

What are the legal/moral ramifications of requiring the students to have an email account so that they can sign up for cool web sites? What if parents don't allow their kids to have emails for protection reasons?

Also, where are students being taught to cite sources correctly? What format are we using school wide?

Reply
11/3/2008 11:28:43 pm

Something I've used that has worked:

PERSUASIVE WRITING PHOTOSTORY FOCUS
-several political cartoons loop on a photostory
-posted instructions ask students to view them and try to figure out what the artist is trying to say
-Discussion begins with emphasizing that political cartoons are a form of VISUAL PERSUASION--the artist is an individual trying to make a point and convince others of his/her point of view.
-a reflective writing assignment ensues

I've seen a few posts asking for ideas. I hope this helps someone.

Reply
Debby
11/4/2008 01:03:28 am

Lynn,

The question of requiring emails is a good one, and one that we need to address school-wide. We will have a policy in place for next year, but in the mean time, the options are: contact the parents and ask permission, with an explanation of the kinds of activities that will be made possible by it. Or, it is possible for you to create an email account for your student, and not share the address and password with even that student, so it cannot be used for anything beyond signing up for the website.

Reply
Debby
11/4/2008 01:06:07 am

re: Citing sources, and citation format. As we create a "culture of citation" at KMS, everyone should include crediting sources as part of the instructional activities in the classroom. I am available to help with that piece of the lesson. We use MLA as our standard format. For initial projects, however, my concern is not the precision of the citation but the idea that credit is given.

Reply
Erica
11/15/2008 06:14:06 am

Is there a safe email forum, like our groupwise, where we can give students an email address and password much like their computer passwords? An address that is "ours" and that we could monitor if need be? Even if they could only access it from the school network. It may help parents feel more comfortable with email, etc. although most of my kids have a yahoo, and aol (or other phone provider) or hotmail address as it is.

Reply
Cara
11/15/2008 11:24:19 am

Yes, Erica! Debby just shared the news at our MTAC meeting that Brenda hooked us up with 800 safe e-mail accounts through Gaggle.net. I'm sure the info will be shared with everyone soon, but in the meantime talk to Debby about details!

Reply
Bridgette
11/16/2008 09:20:39 pm

Is there a way for the subject area wikis to be available to other teachers to integrate lessons?

Reply
Erica
1/21/2009 09:46:17 pm

Bridgette,

I think that anyone who is a facilitator on their wiki can add members. I will see if I have access to the 8th grade math one or if Amy can do it for you.
Erica

Reply



Leave a Reply.